Javascript DHTML Drop Down Menu Powered by

What is Islam?
Islam means surrendering or submission or total obedience to the Will of Allah.

Who is Allah?
Allah is the One and Only True God worthy of worship and the one who has created the entire universe and all what exists in it.

Who are Muslims?
Muslims are those people who follow the religion of Islam, who have willingly accepted to be surrendered or submitted or be totally obedient to the Will of Allah.

What are the pillars of Islam?
There are five pillars in Islam
  1. Shahadah – The testimony of Faith – to declare "Ashhadu an laa ilaaha illa Allah wa ashhadu anna Muhammedan RassolAllah" which means There is no god worthy of worship except Allah and Prophet Muhammed is Allah's last messenger.
  1. Salaah – 5 daily obligatory prayer performed at 5 setup timings of everyday. The first prayer is called Fajr and consists of two units or rakaahs of prayer performed at dawn before the sunrise in the early morning. The second prayer is called Dzuhr and consists of four rakaahs of prayer performed at midday time when the sun has passed the zenith. The third prayer is called Asr and consists of four rakaahs performed in the afternoon, when the shadow of the object is equal to it's height before the sky become yellowish. The fourth prayer is called Maghreb and performed at sunset consists of 3 units or rakkahs. The fifth or the last prayer is called Isha and performed at night consists of four units or rakaahs. There are other prayers Muslims can perform at other timings of the day and night, but they are not obligatory. Performing the above mentioned five prayers is obligatory.
  1. Sawm/Siyam – Observing fasting during the month of Ramadhan (the ninth month of the lunar calendar) daily from dawn to sunset. During the daytime while observing fast it is not allowed to eat or drink or engage in any prohibited acts.
  1. Zakaah – Obligatory charity paid annually (every lunar year) if a Muslim is having excess of wealth. This charity is to be distributed among poor and needy people in the community. Qur'an explains eight categories of people who are eligible to receive zakaah. Muslims also can pay voluntary charity at any time of the year whether rich or poor and that is called Sadaqah.
  1. Hajj – Performing a pilgrimage to the first House of God in Makkah once during one's lifetime if one is capable physically and financially. This is performed every year in the last / 12th month of the lunar calendar called Dzul Hijjah and the main activities of the pilgrimage are observed during the five days between 8th to 13th of this month.

What are the articles of Faith in Islam?
There are 6 articles of Faith in Islam.

  1. Belief in Allah
  2. Belief in the angels
  3. Belief in the Divine Books / Revelations
  4. Belief in the Prophets and Messengers of Allah
  5. Belief in the Day of Judgment
  6. Belief in the Divine Decree whether good or bad.

Who is Muhammed (PBUH)?
Muhammed (PBUH) is the final Prophet and Messenger of Allah who was sent as a Mercy to whole mankind. He was an Arab born in Makkah in 571 C.E. In 610 C.E., at the age of forty he received the first revelation of the Final Divine book Qur'an and was assigned as a prophet to the mankind since then.

What is Qur'an?
Qur'an is the final revelation of Allah to the entire mankind, which is considered as a completion of all the revelations given to all the Prophets before Prophet Muhammed (peace be upon him). It explains everything that a human being required to know during his life in order to achieve success and salvation in this life as well as in the life after death. Qur'an is in Arabic language and Allah has promised to preserve it. There are millions of Muslims who have memorized the Qur'an and every Muslim knows at lease few chapters of it by heart. There are 114 chapters in the Qur'an. The first chapter of the Qur'an is called Surah Al Fatiha, which has seven verses and it is being repeatedly recited in each and every unit of the prayer. The shortest chapter of the Qur'an is called Surah Al Kauthar and it contains only 3 verses. The longest chapter is called Surah Al Baqarah and it has 286 verses.

About Visiting Alfateh Quran Library Islam Guestbook Volunteer Photogallery
Copyright © 2009 Ahmed Alfateh Islamic Center. All rights reserved
Powered by Boxon Vision